The benefits of complete medical coverage

deltex1

Gold Member
Dec 15, 2012
Near the Alamo
As a retired military officer I have tricare for life...which means I can go anywhere for treatment...Medicare pays and tricare covers the rest. So I call my primary care doctor to inquire why they have not forwarded my eye exam referral to BAMC for a second opinion on cataract surgery. I dropped the referral there on 13 May. After five minutes of the Tower of Babel conversation I have come to expect, I agreed to fax them a copy with assurances this time they would succeed in this most difficult of tasks.

Tricare has been a pain in the ass for me forever. The latest round started last year when I got a notice in the mail that I was being disenrolled from Tricare Prime because I did not live close enough to a Military Treatment Facility. That's a strange thing to say since I live not far from a VA hospital. But apparently VA hospitals don't count as MTFs!

I have a family member with serious medical issues and our medical bills jumped by 1000 percent after being forced onto Tricare Standard.

I have since jumped through a bunch of hoops to get re-enrolled back into Tricare Prime.

It is total bullshit that some retired vets get Tricare Prime while others do not simply because of their geographical location!

It's all too befuddling...but I guess my point is that your screwed no matter where you go...my primary care dude is civilian private practice...but how do you escape the human "I don't give a shit " factor?