Right to Self-Defense Against Police

Delta4Embassy

Gold Member
Dec 12, 2013
Earth
I'm not a lawyer, and none of what follows is legal advice. :)

Story on Fox n Friends this morning about a black female college professor arrested by campus police officers who were white for j-walking caught my attention. Incident's on video, and witnesses called 911 on the officers claiming excessive force.

Arizona professor?s jaywalking arrest quickly gets out of hand | FOX6Now.com

Reading coverage of the incident above, I don't think she had a right to self-defense. She was in fact j-walking so the officer(s) had every right to stop and question her. Her beligerance seems to be what escalated the incident. So when the officers had had enough and tried handcuffing her and she resisted, it would seem they were making a lawful arrest. If she'd just been walking down the sidewalk or something she'd have a case, but as-is it doesn't seem as though she does.

The professor arrested claims self-defense. So naturally I got to wondering whether or not citizens being detained or arrested have any right of self-defense against police officers. Since the professor's case is ongoing, this is more abut the theory than that specific incident.

Googling for info, there's numerous precedents where citizens repelled unlawful police arrest, some in which they actually killed the officers and were aquitted of murder.

Your Right of Defense Against Unlawful Arrest

Seems the bottom line is yes, we have a right of self-defense IF an attempted arrest is illegal and without cause. Whether seizing that right is a good idea, I'm inclined to think not. Can avail ourselves of the law in court and without all the bruises...:)

Even if I were in the process of being arrested illegally and without cause, the last thing I'd want to do is fuck around with someone who has a badge and a gun. Be cool and let the courts iron it out.